Careers Best Suited for ISTJs

Even into your thirties, it is not too late to think about where you are in your career and where you’d like to be five years from now. For the past few months, I’ve found myself in this head space—pondering if where I am now in my career is where I want to stay and, if not, where to go from here. Then I began to think about my current and past jobs (i.e. clerk, reporting, and financial duties) and wonder if they hold true to my personality trait—ISTJ.

But before I jump into the deep end of the career pool, let me first review the characteristics of an ISTJ for those who are as clueless as I was just a few years ago.

ISTJ
(Introverted – Sensing – Thinking – Judging)

Type Heads - Poster - finalPHOTO CREDIT: https://www.mbtionline.com/types/istj/

ISTJs are about tradition, order, and rules. We’re logical thinkers who view situations realistically and practically, and we need the hardcore facts—no guessing or opinions. Sometimes, we do come off as cold, unemotional beings because we don’t base our decisions on others’ feelings. This doesn’t at all mean we don’t feel; to the contrary, we actually feel deeply about things that matter to us personally. We just don’t believe our or anyone else’s feelings should play a role in determining what’s right or wrong, whether a procedure is efficient, or what step to take next.

And this couldn’t be more true about ISTJs:

ISTJs are easily frustrated by the inconsistencies of others, especially when the second parties don’t keep their commitments. But they usually keep their feelings to themselves unless they are asked. And when asked, they don’t mince words. Truth wins out over tact. The grim determination of the ISTJ vindicates itself in officiation of sports events, judiciary functions, or an other situation which requires making tough calls and sticking to them.

source: http://www.humanmetrics.com/personality/istj

So, what kind of jobs would best suit someone who’s so intense?😂

Thinking in terms of careers/jobs that require accuracy, perfection, and rule and law enforcement, these are a few common professions in which ISTJs seem to do quite well:

  • Accountant
  • Architect
  • Clerk
  • Computer Programmer
  • Dentist
  • Engineer
  • Financial Analyst
  • Judge
  • Police Officer
  • Property Manager
  • Statistician
  • Surgeon

I always thought that my jobs were chosen for me; I certainly didn’t choose to be an accounting assistant (college work study gig) or a clerk in government (temp placement that turned permanent). After learning much about my personality trait, it would make sense that my ability to excel in the areas of government and finance would be recognized and rewarded (i.e. job promotion and stability). None of the listed careers is one I would’ve chosen, but looking back, I probably could’ve succeeded in a few of them.

So, after much reflection, where do I see myself in five years? Writing, of course. It’s as simple as that. Nothing makes me  happier than penning words to report, persuade/dissuade, encourage, and entertain a reader. As much as I take pleasure in enforcing rules and perfection, writing is far from either of those, which proves skill and ability doesn’t equal happiness and that introversion is as multifaceted as a rough diamond.

 

Leave a comment